Vegging Out

I came across this lightened up tuna salad last week and had to try it. For the record, I am very picky about salads in general but especially tuna, chicken and potato salads. People can add in the strangest things and I just can’t deal with the surprise. And there are way too many food poisoning stories going around that seem to relate back to one of these 3 items. That said, I’ve pretty much trusted my Mother’s tuna salad recipe as the one and only so I was really excited when the image above had my taste buds partying.

I think it’s the added vegetables that really make this a winner. Okay, no. It’s really the French vinaigrette. I modified the original recipe just a bit to fit my style.

………………………….

1 can of albacore tuna in water, drained | 1 tbsp reduced-fat mayo | 1 tbsp plain, non-fat greek yogurt

1.5 tsps spicy yellow mustard | 1.5 celery stalks, diced | 1 large carrot, diced

1/2 cup baby spinach, roughly chopped | 1/4 tsp each of sea salt + black pepper

1 tsp of Brianna’s French Vinaigrette

………………………….

I inhaled this stuff along with a handful of Kashi’s 7-grain Sea Salt Pita Crisps.

One serving is a whopping two Weight Watcher’s points…

(image via)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

